Thanks for three great years!

Today marks the three-year anniversary of the start of this blog. First and foremost, I want to say THANK YOU to all of you who read, like, and comment on my posts. I am blessed to have such awesome readers! You consistently inspire me to new growth.

I’ve gone through periods of faithful daily posting, periods of silence, and periods of sporadic posting, but somehow I’ve managed to write over 550 posts (on this blog) during that time. It’s fun to look back at those early posts and see how my writing has changed with time.

I’ve learned to write to deadline, even when I don’t feel like I have much to say. I’ve learned to find and save topics … and how to come back to old topics in ways that add something new as my understandings grow and change over time.

It’s also amazing sometimes to go back and read old posts and be reminded of the lessons I’ve learned over the last three (very painful) years filled with so much change. How easily I forget these lessons and find the ability to revisit these insights here to be a helpful way to keep myself on track.

Of course, life continues to bring changes. And these changes continue to show up in my writing. I suspect they always will.

But because of some of these changes, I’m finding myself thinking hard about what comes next in my writing life. Questions like:

How can I better use my writing time to blog and to develop a writing career of some kind? Is a daily blogging schedule the best approach?

How can I make my writing less self-centered and more helpful to others? What topics do I have to offer that arise from that place where my passions meet the world’s needs?

What do I need to do to take my writing skills to the next level as I continue to grow? What do I need to continue to improve upon to be the best writer that I can be?

I don’t know what the answers to these questions will wind up being yet or how they might affect this blog, but I’d love to hear from any of you who have suggestions about what I could do differently to serve you better. (Or even what you want to see stay the same because you find it helpful.) Leave me a comment or contact me privately at musingdryad (at) gmail (dot) com with any suggestions you have!

No matter what I decide over time as I wrestle with what comes next, I’m so grateful to all of you for all you’ve given to me over the last three years, and I’ll keep you updated on what the future holds.

Thank you!

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

4 thoughts on “Thanks for three great years!

  1. HI there a little thank you for following my blog is here: http://phoenixrisesagain.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/liebster-award/ but as to your questions.
    I found it a good exercise to blog daily as it gives you and idea how you can deal with daily writing. It also teaches you to stay organised. As to the themes what helps you helps the world. I have found that the more personal my approach was the more people read it and relate to it. If you write what you want to read that is what your readers like as well. And quite often I wrote about things I could not find on the Internet. Do it yourself so to say. I have never planned improvements I just followed my intution and found things that were necessary for me. Last year I have been following writers blogs that gave me ideas and this year I am going to take part in short story competitons. But I just knew what to do at one point. Follow your intuition and it will lead you to the right thing. thanks for your lovely blog

  2. you are very welcome and today I feature you with a some words on my blog 🙂 take care and I am looking forward to read more from you

Comments are closed.