Healing laughter

I’ve been in a funk all week. I’m feeling really discouraged that I just can’t seem to be the person that I want to be. The lack of sunlight this time of year doesn’t help; it tends to make things look even bleaker than they really are when I do get down.

The one thing that has helped keep me from getting overwhelmed by this current bout of discouragement is the laughter that so often fills my days at the office. We manage to find ways to (gently) tease each other and things to laugh about multiple times a day. My gratitude for the chance to work in an environment like this knows no bounds.

I’ve often heard it said that laughter is the best medicine, and my experience is proving this true. I am still feeling discouraged, but all of this laughter is keeping it in perspective and preventing me from becoming overwhelmed by it. That’s a pretty big deal! And I’m so very grateful for this sustaining gift.

In light of that, I thought I’d share a little bit of laughter with all of you in the form of the video clip below of Buttermilk, the jumping goat. Not only does she sound like she’s laughing throughout the video, her behavior just looks so joyful compared to the other goats. I can’t help but laugh as I watch her!

I’m so grateful for the healing power of laughter in my own life. May you find lots of opportunity for laughter in your weekend to bring you joy and healing!

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

2 thoughts on “Healing laughter

  1. Pingback: Laugh I Say | Brittany Buckner

Comments are closed.