Link love: Clutter-free Christmas ideas

Shopping for Christmas presents has become ever more challenging as I have gotten older and an increasing number of people on my gift list already have everything that they really want and need. This tends to make the season more stressful than delightful as I struggle to find gifts that are more than just clutter.

This past week, I found several posts that take a look at ways to simplify and declutter Christmas, and there were a number of great ideas within these posts for gifts that will not add to clutter, as well as suggestions for reducing the clutter of Christmas decorations and for what to do with gifts that we receive that just add to our own clutter.

Leo Babuta of Zen Habits posted The Clutter-free Holiday Guide. This guide covers lots of bases: gift giving, gift receiving, clutter around the house, wrapping paper clutter, decorations, and more. The best part is that all of the suggestions are simple and do-able to help reduce clutter (and thereby reduce stress) this time of year.

Rachel of The Minimalist Mom has a guest post on Home Your Way this week called 90 Clutter-Free Gift Ideas. This post is full of great ideas for alternative gifts that won’t cause clutter. I found several ideas that I hope to make use of this year as I finish up my holiday shopping!

Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus of The Minimalists have a post called Getting Rid of Gifts. While the title of the post sounds a little Grinch-like, the actual post sets the usual gift giving paradigm on its head and explores ways to do things differently. While some of these suggestions are a bit of a stretch for me to implement this close to Christmas, it did give me a lot to ponder about changes I may want to make before next year rolls around.

And finally, Brooke McAlary of Slow Your Home has a post called 12 Steps to a More Meaningful Christmas that takes a look at ways we can make sure we haven’t lost sight of the meaning of the season in the busy hustle and bustle of gift giving, card writing, party doing, cookie baking, tree decorating, and everything else that goes along with the holiday. This was a good reminder to slow down and think about what I really want the holiday to look like for me.

If you are also struggling with staying sane during this busy time, I hope these posts give you some ideas that will bring sanity back into your holidays!

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

6 thoughts on “Link love: Clutter-free Christmas ideas

  1. I LOVE this!! With seven kids and a tight budget and a tiny home, well… I set a very tight and low spending cap. My adult kids get one, very special, and well chosen gift. It might be my special recipes in a vintage box, or something that I knit, or a long coveted vintage book that I got for a steal on Etsy. Whatever it is, it is tailored to the child and his or her loves. I have one son who just wants a giant box of Chex mix all for himself this year πŸ˜‰ He’s getting something else, too, but… The little guy gets more, because of the siblings, but he’s already decided it is time to get rid of old toys because he has “too much.” I love that because we live a very simple and happy life πŸ˜‰

    • I just love the way you handle this with your family, and I think it’s so cool that your youngest is already absorbing that philosophy and wanting to pare down. Go you!!

    • Not yet. My last class for the semester is next Friday, so all reading for pleasure has been put on hold until after the final exam is over. But it’s at the top of the pile as soon as that exam is done! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.