Link love: Blogs that inspire me

Most weeks, I collect links around a specific topic to share in my link love roster, but this week I just want to call out a few of the many blogs that I draw inspiration from on a regular basis. The list of blogs in my RSS feed is long, so I can’t possibly give a shout out to all of the ones that I love, but this list covers a few of the highlights among those that I’ve been following for a while and that are consistently an inspiration to me. There are a dozen more that I could add that are equally deserving, but I doubt you would all read a post that was that long!

In each case, I’ve tried to pick a fairly recent post that I particularly enjoyed as a starting place, but I’d encourage you to look around at other postings too, if what you see is of interest to you.

  • bentlily: the art of noticing your life by Samantha Reynolds is a blog of daily poems. I am continually amazed that she can produce of gem of this quality each and every day! One of her recent ones that really stuck with me is called That girl. Her poems are honest, real, and exquisitely beautiful! My feed is filled with favorited posts from her.
  • Contemplative Photography by Diane Walker is a combination of photography with poetry or prose reflections with each one. The combination is both beautiful and thought-provoking, and I look forward to these postings. A recent favorite is called Compassionate reflection and is just really lovely.
  • The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin is one that I’ve been following for a long time. Her selection of interviews, tips, quotes, and reflections on happiness has really changed the way I approach happiness over the last few years. A recent favorite is called Trying to resist holiday temptations? 7 tips for abstainers and moderators. While the title doesn’t sound like it’s about happiness, it really comes back again to the point that happiness is an individual thing that we have to define for ourselves. Trying to be happy by using someone else’s path will never work.
  • inward/outward: a project of the Church of the Savior is a blog of daily quotes. These quotes are substantial, meaty passages that are always thought-provoking and nearly always are exactly what I need to hear. Today’s post was especially timely and is called Letting the Love and Light Flow.
  • One Hot Mess(age) is one that I have mentioned here before. She has an amazing and courageous story that she shares so beautifully in her posts. Her most recent posts shares part of the new book that she is writing to tell that story. The post is called To Every Season, Turn, Turn, Turn … (Her Facebook page is pretty awesome too!)
  • Life Once Dreamt: where dreams meet reality is fairly new blog that shares one woman’s story of how she’s working to follow her dreams. She’s a great writer with a positive, fresh outlook on life, and she shares her journey with such honesty even when she’s having a rough day. A recent post of hers that I really enjoyed is Don’t Forget to Dream.
  • KM Huber’s blog is another one that I look forward to each week. Her weekly posts share her experience and always provoke deeper thought about spiritual matters. She has some great wisdom to share! A recent post of hers that I enjoyed was And Then, You’re There.
  • Studio Ninety-Six by Callie Smith is a blog that focuses on this project’s experimentation with innovative worship experiences. This one is theologically rich and always gives me something to chew on each week (not to mention that it keeps expanding my list of books that I want to read). A recent post that particularly inspired me was called Suspended Space.

I hope you find something on this list that inspires you! What blogs do you turn to for inspiration?

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

6 thoughts on “Link love: Blogs that inspire me

Comments are closed.