Risking curiosity, wonder, and delight

“We do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch. Once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit.” ~e.e. cummings

I waited many years for someone to reveal that what was inside me was valuable—and I’m sure there were those along the way that tried, but there were always so many other negative voices, both within and without, that drown them out. And so I could not receive the message, even if it was there.

For me, the change came when I decided to believe in myself no matter what anyone else thought. This was not an easy path to take, and I would not recommend it if there is any other path open. But it worked for me.

No matter how one gets there, though, believing in oneself does indeed make the risk of curiosity, wonder, and delight possible. And the beauty of this, I’ve discovered, is that it only takes a small amount of self-belief to be able to take that first small risk toward curiosity, wonder, and delight.

And that small taste of these things can strengthen that self-belief enough to take a slightly bigger risk. The rewards of that risk will once again illuminate that value that we carry deep inside, which makes the next risk toward curiosity, wonder, and delight even easier. And so it goes …

The challenge is to keep one’s focus on this ever-expanding spiral of self-discovery, risk, and growth when the world around us would so easily distract us with lesser (but easier and flashier) things. It takes courage to keep one’s focus even when the path seems lost. It takes strength to hold on and keep moving even when obstacles arise.

But to discover our true selves, to live in curiosity and wonder, to delight in the life we are given … there is no greater reward than this. It makes the journey worthwhile.

If you can find the smallest grain of belief in yourself and your value today, I challenge you to use that to fuel the risk to try the experience of curiosity, wonder, or delight in your world today. You just might be surprised at what that one small risk may bring your way!

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

2 thoughts on “Risking curiosity, wonder, and delight

  1. this is wonderful! I have only read 3 of your posts and 2 of them I am like, oh my goodness, that is so true, I just went through that! I am new at this whole blogging thing and writing what I think and my experiences. I am taking one blog and one day at a time. It is nice to see others moving along just as I am. It is such a rewarding experience.
    I am so glad that you had the strength to see your inner light and you’ve let it shine.
    Keep up the good work!

    • Thank you so much, Vicki! Part of the reason that I blog is to offer encouragement to others by sharing my own journey (both the joys and the challenges) because I think our stories are often so much more similar at the heart of things than we often realize. I’m so delighted that you are finding that encouragement here! Many blessings on your on journey – both the blogging journey and the life journey. Thanks so much for sharing!

Comments are closed.