Invitation to gratitude

I’ve shared quite a bit recently about how great an effect my new gratitude practice is having on my life. I continue to be amazed at how much space this has created for long-needed shifts to happen, how much it has benefited my attitude and outlook, and how much more goodness I am noticing in my life all the time as I pay attention.

Every time I have adopted an intentional gratitude practice into my life, it has had surprisingly large benefits—beyond what would normally be expected for the amount of time and energy it takes. But the ease of doing the practice is probably why it tends to become so easy to take it for granted and gradually slip away from it.

I just spent time talking with my coach about all of the positive changes I’m seeing, and I think I’m finally convinced enough to make this an ongoing practice from now on, though.  I am also eager to invite others to try a gratitude practice of their own to try it out for their lives.

To that end, I’d like to invite you all to join me in a gratitude practice for the month of November. This will be the third year in a row that I post one thing for which I am grateful every day for the month of November (in honor of Thanksgiving Day in the US falling during December). The last two years, I have done this on Facebook. This year, I am committing to use both Facebook and Twitter.

My only (personal) requirement is that I can only name any given blessing once during the month. No repeats. This helps me be more specific in my choices (for example, “delicious chili” instead of “good dinner”) and to consider a wider variety of aspects of my life for which to be grateful. I also aim to be grateful for things named in the positive rather than an absence of  a negative (for example, grateful for a sunny day rather than grateful that it didn’t rain), but there are times that this one has to be bent.

I’ll be starting tomorrow, November 1, and tagging these as #NovGratitude on Twitter, if you’d like to join in. I hope you’ll give it a try, and I hope you’ll let me know what you notice about its effect on your own life after a month.

Will you join me?

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

10 thoughts on “Invitation to gratitude

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Gratitude, the GGG Journey « Giggles, Gobbles & Gulps

  2. Why I hadn’t even read this when i wrote my blog post for today. Does that count? 😉 What a terrific idea! Remind me…I am middle aged 😉

  3. Pingback: November: A Month of Appreciation « A Kiss Of Bliss

  4. Pingback: Gratitude is attractive | Journey Through the Chrysalis

  5. Pingback: Lessons from my month of public gratitude | Journey Through the Chrysalis

Comments are closed.