Sharing creative work

I’ve been on a major creative roll lately. I’ve never known anything quite  like this. I have more ideas than I have time to work on them, and these ideas are for creating things that don’t come with a pattern. That doesn’t sound like much, but this is unprecedented territory for me.

I’ve never considered myself to be creative. I only cooked dishes for which I had a recipe. I only made craft projects for which I had a pattern with clear instructions. I never colored outside the lines.

I first began noticing a shift a couple of years ago when I started finding myself willing to experiment with dishes for which I didn’t have a recipe. The most amazing thing about this is that I would do this even when expecting company! I began to think that I just might be the tiniest bit creative.

With this current outpouring of creative ideas, I’m experimenting with things like mad. Some of them work well, some need some tweaking to be useable, and some just don’t work at all. But even the “failures” prompt new ideas that keep me energized and excited. I am discovering a whole new side of myself that I didn’t know existed!

I’m also discovering that creative work is not cheap (at least not the kind that I am doing). I can’t possibly make use of  all of the things I am making, nor can I continue to purchase supplies at this rate if I don’t find some way to sell some of these items.

And that means that I need to spend time doing the tedious work necessary to make these available for sale: taking and editing photographs, writing descriptions with measurements and other details, figuring out pricing, setting up shipping estimates, getting shipping materials, keeping records. I don’t really mind most of this work too much, but it takes away from the time I want to spend creating new things.

I wish I could find creative projects that I could afford to do simply for the joy of creating without needing to worry about financing the cost of the materials, but I haven’t figured out how to do that yet. Besides, as much as I love the process of creating, there’s something even more satisfying about the idea that there are people out there who might enjoy the items I am making. I love the idea of sharing these creations with others, and that brings me back again to another motive for selling my creations.

I’d really love to see this creative streak move beyond cooking and crafting and into my writing life. That’s the next big frontier, and it’s one that would not require expensive supplies and tools that I don’t already have. Of course, if I wish to share my work with others through the process of publication, that will bring me right back to this same point there too.

So maybe in addition to letting go of my old story that I’m not creative, I may also need to start letting go of my discomfort around selling my creative work. It’s the only way to effectively share my work with the world.

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

2 thoughts on “Sharing creative work

Comments are closed.