Link love: Images of transformation

Tonight’s set of links are all about dealing with times of transformation. Each one of them uses a powerful metaphor or image that makes their message even more powerful, at least for me. These images have stuck with me and helped me to see my own situation differently in various ways that I don’t think would have been as apparent without the mental pictures to act as mirrors to my life.

I highly recommend taking the time to read each one of these posts. Their words and their imagery are powerful.

Geri Larkin wrote a piece for Spirituality & Health on The Pattern of Genuine Transformation that explores the power of that moment when your world expands through a new realization of some kind. Once your world has grown, you can never go back to your old, smaller world and be content there. That “aha” moment when we first taste a bigger world can never be undone. There is still a lot of hard work that goes into growing into that new, bigger world that you have now seen, but that transformation is only possible after the “aha” moment that allows you to see the choice. She uses a very powerful image of getting to swim in the deep end of the swimming pool for the first time to frame this exploration, and it is a beautiful mirror to help me recognize the presence of those moments in my own life.

Ollin Morales of Courage 2 Create (one of my favorite blogs!) explores a related theme in two of his recent blogs. The first one, How to Rise, talks about what happens after we encounter what he calls the Courage Moment. He explores the way we go through times of slow growth that are equally a time of mourning the person we used to be, but at some point, we begin healing and things begin to take a turn for the better. Perhaps the success we’ve been working for starts to show up or we start to see the fruit of our hard work beginning to ripen, and we panic. We get so comfortable in our place of mourning that it can be hard to allow ourselves to transform into the healed people we wish to become when the time comes. He uses the image of the seasons and the natural rhythm of decay in the fall, hibernation in the winter, and the rising of new life in the spring to explore this pattern.

In the second one, Beating Back the Echoes of Your Past Self, he takes a look at the dangers of holding onto our old concepts of ourselves even after we’ve been through a process of transformation and how these old mental pictures of ourselves hold us back from sustaining the new lives we have created. In this post, he uses the image of shedding our old skin as a necessary part of transformation, where are mental pictures of ourselves from the old, limiting skin that needs to be shed.

Diane Walker of Contemplative Photography wrote a post called When the tide is low … that is my last featured post for this set. While she is not specifically talking about change in this post, she does explore how our resiliency in dealing with challenges can vary according to our current level of emotional reserves. She draws a very powerful analogy to high and low tides and how waters can be easier to navigate at high tide when there is less debris sticking up through the surface of the water. This idea of having my own emotional high and low tides is one that has made a big impact on me. It helps me in taking a good look at my own life and my current state using this image, and it helps me to be more gentle with myself when I recognize that I am at low tide. This is another one of my favorite  blogs, both for the thought-provoking insights that her writing always generates and for the stunning photographs that accompany her posts. This post is no exception, with the photograph and the writing weaving together into a beautiful whole.

My personal image of transformation is always the chrysalis (obviously) and the journey that the caterpillar undertakes to become a butterfly, but I love collecting other images that add to aspects of the transformation process to give me additional imagery to lean on when I need it. These form a lovely collection of additional metaphors to enrich my understanding of my own journey, and I hope you find them helpful also.

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

5 thoughts on “Link love: Images of transformation

  1. Pingback: This is it….A New Beginning | OMG This Life of Mine

Comments are closed.