What draws me back

My spiritual journey has not been a straight line. No where close to it, in fact. I’ve investigated many different religious and spiritual traditions, and I have found value in each one. Each one has given me new ways to view life and new tools to help me live it better.

But no matter how much value I find in other faiths, I am always drawn back to Christianity despite my issues with the way that it often manifests in the world. I’m sure some of this is a result of having grown up in this tradition and being surrounded by a culture that is immersed in this worldview. That’s not all it is, though.

In the moments where life breaks my heart wide open and shatters it into tiny slivers, when I feel crushed by the weight of more than I can bear, there is something so comforting about the idea of a God who knows what it is like to be human, a God who chose to live in the confines of human flesh and experience life with all of its joys and sorrows.

The idea that a God like that is willing to walk through the valley of tears with me is what draws me back time and again, despite all of my reservations, despite all of the pain that Christianity itself has added to my load. Only Christianity offers me Jesus.

That’s what draws me back time after time.

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

2 thoughts on “What draws me back

Comments are closed.