Walking down a different street

One of my yoga teachers shared the following with us during our teacher training as we talked about the way that samskara (ingrained mental patterns) works in our lives. I find the first few chapters of this story to be ones that I have repeated many, many times. I am just now learning to move on to the fourth chapter.

I long for the day that I walk down a different street. I think I’m getting close….
<h4 style="padding-left:30px;"AUTOBIOGRAPHY IN FIVE CHAPTERS
Portia Nelson

1. I walk down the street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk
I fall in.
I am lost…
I am hopeless.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes forever to find a way out.

2. I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I’m in the same place.
But it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

3. I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I see it is there.
I still fall in…it’s a habit
My eyes are open; I know where I am;
It is my fault.
I get out immediately.

4. I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

5. I walk down another street.

Where do you need to walk down another street?

One thought on “Walking down a different street

  1. Pingback: Revolution underway | Journey Through the Chrysalis

Comments are closed.