Walking into the unknown

“Coach Bob Proctor says, “If you know what to do to reach your goal, it’s not a big enough goal.” Big dreams don’t have easy paint by number action plans. Big dreams involve listening to the new frequency of your soul, not the repetitive guidance of ordinary advice. It’s uncomfortable not to know. But, remember, it can be so much more painful to be in a life where every square inch is known.” ~Tama J. Kieves

As I begin this process of setting up my own business and (gradually) becoming self-employed, I feel like I need to remind myself of this a hundred times a day. The part of me that craves safety and security is panicking at the idea that I am doing something this big without really knowing all the steps it’s going to take to get there.

I not only don’t know all of the steps that will be required in the next few months, I have no idea what this is going to evolve into even a year from now. I know that I am passionate about yoga and that I want to share this love with others, but I don’t know if that will just involve teaching (and if so, where?) or possibly also some kind of yoga therapy (if so, what?). I have no idea where this journey is going to lead me. I don’t even know how big a portion of my joyfully jobless portfolio this will wind up being.

I don’t know how to run a business. I don’t know how to create a strong business website (ok, I know some of the basics on websites but not nearly enough to feel confident in designing an effective one). I don’t understand business tax laws and accounting requirements. I don’t know a thing about marketing.

In fact, there’s not much I know about this whole process. I’m pretty much flying by the seat of my pants.

But I do know that this is the right thing for me to be doing at this time in my life because when I listen to the frequency of my soul, it is joyfully calling me forward into this great unknown with passion and enthusiasm like nothing I have experienced in a long time.

I may not be able to see the pathway before me, but I know that I am on the right path nonetheless. And as long as I can continue to see just far enough ahead to know where to take the next step, that is enough for now. Yes, it’s uncomfortable not to see it all laid out before me, but this is the adventure of a lifetime and the unknown is simply more room for freedom and exploration.

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

