Stop the mental masturbation

“It’s an open acknowledgment of a tendency we all have: to make things much more complicated than they need to be. After all, it’s much more fun – and still leaves room for other addictions, like procrastination, perfection and control – to engage in mental masturbation.” ~Beth Buelow, The Introvert Entrepreneur

Clearly I still needed another gentle push to jump today after my post of yesterday. I came home from work today to find Beth’s post entitled How to Kick Your Paralysis by Analysis Addiction (from which the quote above is taken) waiting for me in my RSS reader. Talk about a timely message!

Not only does she completely nail this tendency I find in myself, she also gave me the wonderful phrase “mental masturbation” to remind myself of what I’m engaging in when I catch myself in analysis paralysis next. Any phrase like this one that can make me laugh at myself even as I’m catching my patterns kicking in is worth its weight in gold!

I’ll let you all read her post for the details—trust me, it’s worth it! She captures this tendency perfectly, from the way it shows up to the causes behind it. I won’t even try to summarize it here, so go check it out!

In the meantime, I think I’m ready to take my life back from my gremlins who are so set on self-sabotage and go back keeping it simple. I know what I need to do. Time to stop the mental masturbation and just do it. Time to jump!

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a fragile and vulnerable place to be, so I am committed to keeping this a safe place for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight are not welcome here and will be deleted.

2 thoughts on “Stop the mental masturbation

  1. Do you know that I really wanted to use the phrase “mental masturbation” in my title, but I chickened out!? 🙂 I’m glad you did it! Even in debating with myself about the title, I made things more complicated! Ha! Old habits die hard…

    Thank you for sharing my post and commenting so eloquently on it. I love how it dovetailed from your post of yesterday… my guess is that the mental masturbation happens more when we’re moving away from something (moving from fear) than when we’re moving toward (from love). Here’s to just jumping (the net is there, waiting for us!)!! 🙂

    • Thanks, Beth! I nearly chickened out with the title too! Thanks so much for your original post; it was just what I needed. Thanks, too, for the encouragement here. Jumping is hard enough without adding all the mental masturbation to sap my energy. (Love that term, by the way! Captures the essence of it perfectly!)

Comments are closed.