Finding a dream to love

“You have to find something that you love enough to be able to take risks, jump over the hurdles and break through the brick walls that are always going to be placed in front of you. If you don’t have that kind of feeling for what it is you are doing, you’ll stop at the first giant hurdle.” ~George Lucas

I think he’s got the right idea. The path to any dream is filled with hurdles and challenges, and unless I love that dream enough to take whatever risks are necessary to make the dream a reality, I will never make it past the challenges in the way.

My challenge has always been trying to clarify which dreams I love enough to have that kind of passion for following. It seems like those should be easy to identify, but I find that (at least for me) the biggest dreams also seem to provoke the biggest fears. Fear then has this way of masking the dream even from my own view, so I can’t always tell which dreams spark the deepest love in me.

However, I discovered today that my fear only masks it from myself. I had the chance to share with a friend some of the many ideas I am considering pursuing and the fact that I need to find a way to focus my efforts. As I mentioned a number of the possibilities, I was enthusiastic about how any number of them could work in combination with each other. And then I mentioned (almost as a side note) the one dream that I have long held close to my heart but which has always seemed a bit impractical to me. Something in my voice prompted her to ask me to tell her more about that one, so I shared some of my ideas and thoughts and dreams about that particular pathway—including the fact that I didn’t think it was particularly practical.

But she had seen what I couldn’t see. That was the one idea that brought me to life when I talked about it. I was enthusiastic and upbeat about the others, but she could tell that this one was in a whole different league. This is the one I love, and it showed.

I quickly reminded her of all the reasons why it was impractical and why it scared me and how great the chance of failure was.

She shrugged. “What’s the worst that could happen?”

“I could fail! What if I can’t do it?”

She shrugged again. “I seriously doubt that will happen when it’s something you love so much. You’ll find a way to make it work. I can see you’re scared, but I can also see your heart beating.”

She could see me come to life just talking about the idea. She could also see my fear, but she could shrug that away because she could see that I loved it enough to deal with the hurdles and risks and challenges that I’ll face on the path.

And her confidence in me gives me just enough hope to try because seeing myself in the view she mirrors back to me allows me to see the dream I love without the mask of my fear clouding the view. I still have many challenges on this path, and I still might fail, but I love it enough to give it my best shot. Life is too short not to chase a dream that makes me come alive.

I’m grateful for the clarifying view of myself through the mirror that a listening friend can provide. Perhaps that’s an approach I should try sooner the next time my own view is cloudy.

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a very fragile place, and it takes a good deal of vulnerability to share this personal journey of transformation so openly. Therefore, I need this to be a safe place for exploration and sharing for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight—or the expression of that experience or insight—are NOT welcome here and will be deleted.

