Still peeling away

“As difficult as it seems, you can be sure of this: At the core of the heart, you have the power to move beyond the old issues that are still hindering your freedom. The hardest things, the ones that push you up against your limits, are the very things you need to address to make a quantum leap into a fresh inner and outer life.” ~Doc Childre

The last few months especially have seemed like one hard thing after another pushing me up against my limits. Sometimes these are genuinely new hard things that are arising; other times, it is more like deeper layers of an onion that are rising to the surface after the previous layer has been peeled away.

Either way, as difficult as it often proves to be, I am indeed finding that I have the power inside me to deal with each issues as it appears. It is slowly building my confidence to begin to have a track record to look back on to see that I have managed to deal with the issues and the layers of issues that have come before, but it is still discouraging to find one after another of these rising up to take the place of whatever I’ve just dealt with.

I have been faced again and again with things that I would call the “hardest things,” the ones that do indeed push me up against my limits. As discouraging as it is to find myself facing one challenge after another, it is reassuring to think that dealing with these will allow the kind of quantum leap into freedom that I am longing for. So far, the changes I am making, the hard things I am facing down, the layers that I am peeling away are giving me greater freedom and longed-for improvements in life than I could have imagined.

It helps to think that continuing to face these challenges as they arrive will continue to allow me to grow and shift and transform in the ways that I have long needed to do in order to become the person I am meant to be, in order to live the life I was created to live. That is hopeful and exciting.

It’s discouraging to keep finding layer after layer to deal with, but maybe this is just part of learning that transformation to wholeness is an ongoing, never-ending process that will take me the rest of my life. I suppose I just might have to learn patience yet!

A Note on Comments: A chrysalis is by nature a very fragile place, and it takes a good deal of vulnerability to share this personal journey of transformation so openly. Therefore, I need this to be a safe place for exploration and sharing for me and for my readers. Comments sharing your own journey, even if your experience is different from mine, are always welcome and encouraged. Expressions of support or encouragement are also welcome. Comments that criticize, disparage, correct, or in any way attempt to undermine the validity of another person’s experience or personal insight—or the expression of that experience or insight—are NOT welcome here and will be deleted.

