Synchronicity Friday 12

It’s once again time for Synchronicity Friday where I review the moments of synchronicity that I encountered during the last week. This week has been filled with small synchronicities that are likely to sound small in the re-telling, but each of these had enormous impact for me in affirming the direction my thoughts and my life are currently taking.

Within mere moments after posting Hiding from the bullies, the following quote showed up:

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.” – Alice Walker

This, for me, was a reminder that people will react to me according to how I think of myself. So the first step in ending the bullying is to remember that I do have power. No more and no less so than anyone else on this planet. That’s a radical concept for me, but the fact that I am even entertaining it means I’m making enormous progress!

I've talked quite a bit lately about the need to learn to love myself, support myself, save myself, and take responsibility for myself. All of these tend to sound to me like remarkably lonely endeavors, and I tend to shrink from them because it makes me worry that I will wind up spending the rest of my life alone if I learn to meet my own needs. So the following quote, which came my way this week, was incredibly reassuring.

“An intimate relationship does not banish loneliness. Only when we are comfortable with who we are can we truly function independently in a healthy way, can we truly function within a relationship. Two halves do not make a whole when it comes to a healthy relationship: it takes two wholes.” Patricia Fry

Learning to do those things for myself is what will make a real intimate relationship possible; it won’t make it obsolete. This reaffirms what I was trying to say about The longing for connection. Hearing this stated so clearly by another is comforting and encouraging.

I’ve been looking deeply at some of my long-term patterns lately and have been doing a lot of reading about how many of these were created in childhood. I’ve had several reminders lately about how it is possible to change these patterns once we become aware of them, but I tend to become discouraged when I think about the challenge of changing a pattern that is so deeply ingrained. So the following quote that appeared today was a great reassurance.

“It doesn’t matter how long we have had a negative pattern. The point of power is in the present moment. ” ~ Louise Hay

I can only act in this present moment, so that is really all that matters. How long the pattern has been in place really doesn’t matter. The only thing that counts is what I choose to do in the here and now. Yes!

And lastly, with all of the focus I’ve been placing on working out my relationship with myself lately, I found the following post from Dr. Brian Alman on Inspire Me Today to help put this all in focus for me. He talks about the importance of one’s relationship with oneself to authenticity, perfectionism, self-criticism, and our relationships with others. This pulls together so many of the critical themes I have been exploring lately into one focus. It reassures me that all this focus on my relationship with myself is not as self-centered as it may seem. In fact, he says:

“The #1 predictor of the quality of your relationships with others IS the relationship you have with yourself. When you need a helping hand, look at the end of your wrist.”

So this temporary inward focus is actually a means of focusing on my relationships with others. I needed to hear that!

 

