Forget safety

“Forget safety. Live where you fear to live. Destroy your reputation. Be notorious.” ~ Rumi

Well, I’ve done it. I am now officially unemployed. Although I do have a new part-time job coming in a few weeks, I no longer have full-time employment. And I have no other wage earner to help support me. Having known what it’s like to not have enough to eat, this is the stuff of my scariest nightmare. I’m doing it anyway. I’m letting go of safety and following my heart.

It was sad leaving for the last time today. No sense of joy anywhere in sight. There are many people there that I will miss. I will miss having the sense of community that comes with a workplace. I will miss the steady paycheck.

But despite the sadness, despite the fear, despite the feeling of freedom, the leaving itself was actually quite anti-climatic. A “potentially catastrophic” winter storm (words of the National Weather Service, not mine) has begun here tonight and is predicted to last until Wednesday evening. Impassable roads, widespread downed trees, and widespread, long-term power outages are forecast. There’s nothing like a storm of nature to remind us that our sense of safety is always illusory.

I may or may not be online the next few days—depending on whether or not I have power. I hope you will keep all of us in the path of this storm in your thoughts and prayers. I’ll check in again when I can.

For now, I plan to enjoy the heat while I have it and begin my marathon of reading and writing to celebrate my time to myself.

This entry was posted on January 31, 2011, 7:20 pm, in Quotes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.