Synchronicity Friday 11

It’s once again time for Synchronicity Friday where I review the moments of synchronicity that I encountered during the last week. Obviously, my biggest news of the week is that the job interview I mentioned in last week’s Synchronicity Friday post has now become my new job, and it looks better than I could ever have imagined!

A Facebook group that I recently joined that is part of a class with a shaman started a discussion on synchronicity this week. It was so delightful to hear stories from so many other women of the moments of synchronicity they are encountering in their lives. The timing of that thread helped me to feel even more connected with the group, which is always helpful in an online forum. It’s also a bit of reassurance that it’s the right place for me to be at the moment.

After my post about the abundance of the universe in providing this new job once I showed the smallest bit of trust, the following quote came my way.

“Give life even a small crack of faith, and the universe will rush to show you what you can have.” ~Alan Cohen

And the following quote showed up to echo my thoughts about trusting enough. It’s always amazing to receive such quick affirmation of my thoughts on some topic.

“We’re never so vulnerable than when we trust someone—but paradoxically, if we cannot trust, neither can we find love or joy.” ~Walter Anderson

I also came across a fantastic post this week on Inspire Me Today by Christine Arylo talking about learning to love ourselves. In her post, she talks not only about how we will never find the love we are searching for outside of ourselves but also about the importance of learning to truly love ourselves since that is all that will fill that void in us. The entire post is worth reading, but the quote below really captured the essence of her message for me.

“Every person on this planet, including you, desires to be deeply loved. At the core of your soul, your spirit requires that in this lifetime you seek out and find unconditional and pure love. The reason most of us spend our lives searching without ever really finding it, is not because this precious love doesn’t exist, or even that it is rare. You’ve been taught to look in the wrong places—outside of you—when the truth is that the love you seek starts and ends with the love you have for you.” ~Christine Arylo

After writing about the importance of being able to walk apart from one’s tribe, I was struck to find this concept reiterated in Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles that I wrote about yesterday. He talks about how this struggle to be separate from our tribe fuels our resistance. He also relates this struggle back to how our fears that outshining someone close to us will cost us our tribal association also fuels our resistance to what we are meant to do.

Steven Pressfield also talks about how we tend to find ourselves getting sick when we try to avoid doing the thing to which we are called. This idea also appeared recently in a DailyOM post titled Feeling Our Life, in a post in this Facebook class I am in about Alchemy, in several things I’ve read lately about shamanism, and in some recent conversations with friends. This concept seems to be showing up lately everywhere I look.

The other topic that seems to keep re-appearing lately for me is the importance of taking to time to know what really makes me happy. As Gretchen Rubin points out in her recent post entitled Your Happiness Project: Have More Fun on The Happiness Project blog, each of us has a different idea of what fun is. I need to take the time to get to know myself well enough to really know what fun means for me, and then I need to make sure I incorporate that into my life. As DailyOM says in Analyzing the Path,

We are used to analyzing why we are unhappy, but taking the time to contemplate your happiness is important too.”

Then again, DailyOM also notes in Guilty Pleasures that we can tend to make ourselves feel guilty for being happy, as if we don’t deserve it (goodness knows I do this!). But being happy is part of our birthright. It’s not something I need to earn. So the more time I spend analyzing what makes me happy and enjoying that happiness, the better.

