Synchronicity Friday 7

It’s once again time for Synchronicity Friday where I review the moments of synchronicity that I encountered during the last week.

I already talked in A wondrous gift about the two books I read this last week that were so meaningful to me, but the synchronicity in this for me is that these two appeared in my life at the same time. Although both books were powerful in and of themselves, the combination of them made a much deeper impression on me than either of them would have alone. In fact, I had nearly decided not to read Now, Discover Your Strengths and was preparing to take it back to the library when I read The Big Leap: Conquer Your Hidden Fear and Take Life to the Next Level, which made created the context I needed to value the first book.

After I talked about Athena in last week’s Synchronicity Friday, I received a Daily Dose email the next morning from Powell’s Books highlighting a book called The Athena Project. Although it’s not my kind of book, the timing of the appearance of the title did make me laugh. Athena also appeared in a card reading a friend of mine did for me for 2011.

Within minutes after posting The ring of fire, I received an email from DailyOM entitled The Heart of Humanity that talked about the importance of being willing to sit with painful moments in our lives in order to gain the lessons that the experience has to teach us. I found this to be a powerful affirmation to the ideas I had been struggling with in the post I had just finished.

An even more powerful synchronicity with The ring of fire post arrived yesterday morning in the form of an earthquake that I actually felt here in the Midwest where earthquakes are rare. While this one was mild, it still underscored in a most profound way my comments about feeling like nothing in my life is stable right now.

I have been doing a lot of thinking lately about how I want to organize my tasks, my writing, my ideas, etc. in the coming year. So far, I’ve looked at different ways to best keep track of each of these things separately. So when I came across a blog post on Blogher that suggested using a journal for all of these purposes to keep everything in one place, it felt like an answer from out of the blue to a problem I didn’t even know that I had! I can’t wait to give this idea a try in the new year to see if I can keep myself better organized and more alert and engaged with life this way.

I came across a blog post on Coping with the Holidays as an Empath that helped me make some sense of part of why I find this time of year to be so challenging. Of course, I have all of the usual family issues and pressures to spend too much money as well, but the intensity of the emotional level that inundates me this time of year doesn’t help!

And finally, I’ve been struggling with how to deal with the abundance of criticism I’ve taken on at work in the last year—how to know what I need to pay attention to in order to learn from it and what I need to let go of because it is just causing pain without improvement. In listening to a talk online today, I heard about the idea of thinking of these things as bricks that I’ve been given based on the words of the song Let It Be by Superchick. The lyrics to this song (which can be found in the comments below the YouTube video at the link above) have given me a powerful way to view and deal with the criticism and its effect on me. I think I’ll be listening to this one a lot in the coming weeks!

