Synchronicity Friday 6

It’s once again time for Synchronicity Friday where I review the moments of synchronicity that I encountered during the last week.

I already covered my biggest rash of synchronicities in last Saturday’s post about Listening to my body. That was quite a number of resources that all came together at once on that topic for me. The day after I wrote that post, I found an email in my inbox from soul artist Laura Hollick entitled Your Body Story. Although her post was about a slightly different topic, I thought that title was a wonderful way to think of what I am trying to listen to.

I also encountered two more references that are relevant to my recent post about Embracing each emotion. The first is a Daily Coach Tip from Martha Beck: “Don’t try to stop the waves of events and emotions; surf them. Allow upheaval and unhappiness, and you reduce their power.” I love this idea that we reduce the power of negative emotions by allowing them, surfing their waves. I think that perhaps if I can envision myself surfing them, it will help to allow them without feeling the need to get all down in them where I could drown. The second reference was today’s Daily OM mailing titled When Pain Comes Our Way. The author has the following to say:

It is especially important when pain comes our way to honor the experience, because our natural tendency is to push it away and move past it as quickly as possible. We tend to want to brush it under the rug. Yet, if we don’t, it reveals itself to be a great friend and teacher. As counterintuitive as it seems, we can honor pain by thanking it and by welcoming it into the space of our lives. We all know that often the more we resist something, the longer it persists. When we honor our pain, we do just the opposite of resisting it, and as a result, we create a world in which we can own the fullness of what life has to offer.

The post goes on to talk about ways we can honor our pain. While the first part of the quote above is very similar to ideas I had already been thinking, this concept of extending beyond just embracing our pain to honoring it is an expansion on my previous thoughts. This is an idea that I will need to spend more time with when I encounter pain in my life. I recommend a reading of the post for more ideas.

I discovered the website of  Jaya the Trust Coach this last week. Her work is based heavily on The Work of Byron Katie, which she reviews on her website. Although I have read some of Byron Katie’s work in the past, I had forgotten her emphasis on questioning our stories and was amazed at how relevant this resource is to the process I was talking about in The stories we tell ourselves.

I wrote a few weeks ago about the goddess Durga being a part of my Spirit support right now. She showed up again this week in a post called The Well of Feminine Power by Jean Raffa of Matrignosis: A Blog About Inner Wisdom. While just having a post about her show up was a great synchronicity, this post was actually a wonderful discussion about the ways that the masculine and feminine are seen in Hindu culture as opposed to Western culture. In the West, we tend to think of the feminine as passive and the masculine as active. This has always felt disempowering to me as a woman. But the Hindus think of the feminine as creativity and action and the masculine as manifestation. In other words, the feminine is the source of all that is manifested. I strongly recommend reading her full post for more about the subject, but it was a real shift in perspective for me.

When I last met with the shaman I have been working with, she suggested that I likely have three patron goddess right now. One for each of my three energy centers—head, heart, and belly. Durga, who I previously mentioned goes with the energy center in my belly. During the session, we identified Athena as another one of my patron goddesses; she goes with the energy center in my head. When I got home and went looking for more information about Athena in my goddess deck, I discovered that Minerva (the Roman version of the Greek Athena) was all about changing one’s belief systems. This obviously goes well with the head, but for the focus to specifically be on changing beliefs was another synchronicity with the ideas I was struggling with in The stories we tell ourselves. To top it off, I received an email this week from Lissa Coffey of Coffey Talk that was all about Athena!

What a great roundup of synchronicity for the week!

