The calling

The Calling:

What is your life calling you?
When all the noise is silenced,
the meetings adjourned,
the lists laid aside,
the wild iris blooms itself
in the dark forest,
what still pulls on your soul?

In the silence between heartbeats
hides summons.
Do you hear it?
Name it, if you must,
or leave it forever nameless,
but why pretend it’s not there?

(The Terma Collective)

I found the above on a Facebook page. I have no idea who or what the Terma Collective is, but the sense of calling described in the poem tugs at my soul. I know so well that feelings of calling that pulls on my soul in the quiet moments.

Because of something I was reading today, I had cause to spend some time really deeply thinking about what the calling is for me. It certainly seems like this should be immediately obvious since I relate so strongly to that sense of calling, but it’s so easy in the busyness of daily life to spend my time pretending it’s not there. It’s also easy when the thing to which I believe I am called seems unreachable to attempt to muzzle the calling so I don’t have to face the distance between what I am called to and what I believe is possible.

However, as I continue to learn to listen to my intuition and am willing to allow myself to dream “impossible” dreams and to think outside the conventional boxes of life, I find that I am hearing that calling more distinctly. I am learning to recognize different layers within that calling. Some aspects of the calling arise from a deeper place than others do, and as I can tease those layers apart, it can help me to prioritize my time and effort.

I am committed to fully hearing that calling and following it where it may lead. I’ve tried to tune it out in order to live the “safe” life, but this just hasn’t worked for me. I still feel the tug of the calling pulling at my soul, showing me what I am here to be and to do. I’m ready to stop fighting now, to listen, to follow this calling wherever the journey may lead.

This is terrifying. It’s also liberating and joyful. And so I listen for the summons in the silence between my heartbeats. Can you hear it?

