Attack of the Kobolds

I recently read Richard Crawford’s blog post called “A Day Full of Kobolds” on his Blognomicon blog. As a fellow sufferer of double depression, I found his description quite consonant with my experience. I am so overwhelmed with the massive amount of change and upset I’m dealing with right now that I’m running on pure adrenaline. It’s almost like a bizarre high that keeps me going beyond what seems possible. But I know that the day is coming when the busyness will ease, I will hit adrenaline burnout, and I will crash. I worry that if I may well wind up in one of the major depressive episodes he talks about, and I can’t afford that right now. I need to figure out how to take better care of myself to make sure I can ease into my life smoothly so I can avoid a crash.

